Biggest Board Slotted?

October 16, 2008

The blade couldn’t get to the last centimeter or so at either end so I cut them away by hand. I was pretty pleased that it fit in the platen, though!

A Bit of a Trick

October 16, 2008

Some boards are more problematic in this way than others, but cleaning the slot out in the end is really important for inserting the rebacking material evenly, and I had a few rather brittle boards I didn’t want to bang on the table to knock the sawdust out. It’s been working rather well for me, however, to disconnect the tubing that leads to the vacuum and run it along the slot before taking the book out of the platen. The hose is wider than the slot, so doing this while the board is clamped offers some surface area on either side to give better suction than holding the board in the air.

Blade Longevity

October 16, 2008

We’ve been using carbide blades at Columbia and keeping track of how many boards we slot to get an idea of the life of these things. We have a 1/64″ (which doesn’t get as much use), and a 1/32″. Jeff tells me the old blades were able to slot 10 boards before they were exhausted, but the first carbide blade we put on our machine went through 102 before I retired it so it seems like a good investment. (Less time wasted switching out & disposing of blades, too.)

I think these blades can be resharpened also, right? We haven’t looked into where to do that just yet.